Three types of CA Validation Certificate

Domain Validation (DV): This is a lower level of validation. The CA validates that you have control of the domain. A DV certificate expires in 90 days.

Organization Validation (OV): A higher level of validation. The CA validates whether or not the company is valid, if it is registered, and if the business contact legitimately works at the company. The CA uses your organization information to verify you legally own or have the legal right to use the domains listed in your certificate.

Extended Validation (EV): The highest level of validation in which you must have signed letters and notaries sent to the CA before signing. Wildcard certificates cannot be EV certificates because an EV certificate requires you to be explicit about all the subject alternative names (SANs).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s